Newbie Advice Needed For Aluminium Sub Build - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 5 Old 08-21-12, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Newbie Advice Needed For Aluminium Sub Build

Hi all,im new to the forum so be gentle ey!

I was eyeing up the B&W JL Audios & Velodyne DD plusses of this world,15/18" and i just cant justify the price tag which here in the UK is even more extortionate with the import costs etc. I caught a glimpse of a thread relating to DIY build and now im talking to you guys who from what iv read so far have a wealth of knowledge on the subject!

Great site btw!

First off am i right in thinking that a DIY build with the right parts and software used can produce bass quality at least equal to that of the high end manufactured subs?
If so i wanna give it a go!

Im a fabricator by trade,time served sheet metal and at present i make sub-sea gas and oil pipework so iv got no problem assembling,cutting,machining,drilling,welding etc. Iv done a few foreigners for myself over the years, last one was a racing frame and seat for the PC&PS3 out of aluminium. It polished up to a mirror shine and if i dont say so turned out mint! Had some good beered up racing nights with the lads on it too. So im thinkin why make an MDF enclosure when i can fab it out of lovely strong, thick,shiny Aluminium?? )

I know there are subs made of Alu but i was wondering if there was any known problems with using the material from an acoustic point of view? Il be using sound deaddening/dampening on the inside, will this stop any tiny or ringing effects under load etc etc.. stuff like that.

Was initially lookin at a 15" (can still be tempted) but while im bothering my to make it it would be rude not to look at more devestating options like TC LMS Ultra 5400. Lets not beat around the bush ey. Im planning on making just one to start with, iron out any issues that may arise then il be looking at making more armed with my new found knowledge.