Help with cables for basic measurements - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 4 Old 08-28-11, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Question Help with cables for basic measurements

I'm completely new to all things audio and need your help with some cabling recommendations to take basic speaker and subwoofer measurements with REW. I've read through this forum as well as the REW cabling basics, but I'm not 100% confident in what to purchase (cheap newbie here!).

For starters, I'll be connecting a Radio Shack SPL (33-2055) to a Behringer UCA202 External Sound Card (both have yet to be purchased ). The SPL manual states the output jack requires an "audio patch cord" and the UCA202 has separate left and right RCA inputs. Based upon the REW connection diagram, is one of these the correct type - # 2680 or #2864 ?

Is it correct that only two cables are needed in total - including the setup for the loopback test? One from SPL to UCA202 and one from UCA202 to an available analog RCA input on the receiver?

I'm also confused if any Y adapters are needed for my configuration? The following note appears in the REW diagram, but I'm not sure what it means: "Optional Y splitter if you wish to feed both left and right channels."

Thanks in advance for all your help. I look forward to learning so much more...
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 Old 08-30-11, 11:53 AM
Re: Help with cables for basic measurements

...Talk about a minimalist rig...

First, I would advise forgoing the RS SPL meter as an input source and at least going with a small capsule Behringer ECM8000 mic. And you might consider at least an ART USB Dual Pre... That combination will at least afford you to opportunity to grow into the rig and not almost immediately grow out of it...

But..... if you observe the RS SPL meter, its output is either a 2.5mm or 3.5mm mono mini-jack (its nice of the user manual not to state which format it is), not an RCA jack.