Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Newbie needs help setting up Denon 1910 Receiver

11K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  briannarichardson2 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, I recently purchased a Denon 1910 and paired them up with some JBL CS480BG 5.1 Speakers. Right now I have my Playstation 3 and TV hooked up to it but I want to add my PC to it also which I have running to the TV via a DVI to HDMI cable but that doesnt transfer audio (only video) so I would need to use an optical cable for audio.

My questions are (sorry If their newbie this is my first time owning a surround sound system & receiver):

1) What is the proper way to connect the receiver on the back panel of my Samsung LCD TV? Right now I have it hooked up from "Monitor Out" on the receiver to HDMI 1 on the back of my TV with an HDMI cable.

2) How can I get my TV channels to play on my surround sound speakers?

When I have the AVR 1910 receiver turned on the built in tv speakers on the TV turn off but no sound plays from the tv speakers when I have the "Source" on the TV set to TV. If I change the "Source" on the TV remote to HDMI 1 which is where I have the receiver plugged in and press "TV" on the AVR 1910 receiver control I will get a black screen with no auido.

I tried to see if maybe I have the speakers connected wrong or something but the speakers work fine when I have the receiver changed to HDCP which is where I have my PS3 connected with an HDMI cable.

3) Is it possible to use the receiver to watch tv channels without a cable box, VCR, DVR, or Satellite receiver?

4) How would I go about connecting my PC to my Denon 1910 if I have my PC hooked up to my TV with a DVI to HDMI cable that doesnt have audio? I have a couple of optical cables laying around and an optical port on my motherboard.

thank you for your help

Sincerely
- Reinier

See less See more
#2 ·
Hello and welcome to the Shack!