Newbie here building a new home - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 6 Old 08-14-10, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Newbie here building a new home

First off, awesome site and forum, can see alot of questions answered down the road when I am stuck. Therefore the reason for post:

I am building a new construction home, one of the items that I selected to be added was the HDMI cable installed above the fireplace. There will be an electrical outlet installed as well directly next to it. In our walk thru, the electrician asked me where my components are going to be placed, I stated I would LOVE to put them in the basement and run some type of IR or RF system.

The electrician tells me no problem he will run the HDMI cable to the corner of the house where my breaker box will be located and I can add my surge protector right next to the breaker and hook up my components right from there (approx 30' from tv to the breaker box)

I have been searching high and low and I know I have not invented something new here, but maybe not as common, but i can not find anything that gives me some direction on how to do this correctly (run my components from upstairs with one remote while everything is downstairs).

I know it will have to do with RF or IR but any suggestions on systems to use and things to expect?

With two small children I needed as much space as possible upstairs until I can finish off the basement.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 08-15-10, 01:41 AM
Elite Shackster
Re: Newbie here building a new home

Parts Express has a great selection of whole house control systems including IR and RF, give them a look to see whats available for your situation.
post #3 of 6 Old 08-24-10, 08:18 PM

To be clear, are you simply looking for a solution for your room with the fireplace? Also, what type of gear will you be using with for that room? Satellite/Cable box? BD player? CD player? Receiver?