Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Hidden Components IR Question

4K views 22 replies 5 participants last post by  fax6202 
#1 ·
I am fairly new to this so please bare with me. All of my components will be in a dedicated 'component room' accessible thru a pocket door. In order for me to control everything I need to use IR, correct? I understand that I will need an IR receiver in the actual theater room. Do i actually need an IR emitter for each device. Not sure how all this works. Are there any complete systems to use. Any and all advice/guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks.

#2 ·
Welcome to Home Theater Shack :D

Ive used this system for many years and no problems except one, a URC40 universal remote wouldnt work with it for some reason. There might be cheaper and better solutions but Ive been really satisfied with mine. I have four rechargeable transmitters so I have a remote in all three zones and one always charged in the base unit, works very well through multiple walls and up to 40' away (ymmv obviously). If I recall correctly it comes included with a single eye blaster, 3 or 6 eye cables and additional rechargeable transmitter batteries are extra.

#3 ·
Fax...,

"Hi Fax, Welcome to HTS." I think I can help you understand what is going on well enough to help you make informed choices in putting together what you need to remain in control of your equipment.

First of all, most electronic equipment (gear or Kit) comes to market with a remote control these days. Two popular options for sending commands from a remote control to the associated electronic equipment are either IR or Infra-Red and Blue-Tooth. Both send digital info over a radio frequency.