Need Help With Home Audio Speaker Placement - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 12 Old 06-17-13, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Need Help With Home Audio Speaker Placement

I am currently building a house, and I want to add home audio in a few rooms. I am a newbie, and I know very little about audio. In my great room I am considering adding a center channel speaker above my TV and a wall speaker on either side. The TV will be above a fireplace with gas logs. I know it's not the best place, but that is where it has to go. Then, I will put 2 ceiling speakers to the left and right of the main sitting area and maybe even 1 or 2 more directly behind the main sitting area (5.1 vs 6.1 vs 7.1). I guess I will need a sub also. Where should it go? On my back porch I am putting 2 speakers, and 1 speaker in the kitchen and master bath. In the master bedroom I am considering 4 ceiling mount speakers kind of in each corner. The reason I am thinking about doing it this way is so I can move my bed to different wall if needed and the speakers placement will still be ok. How does all of this sound? I may be way off because like I said I am a newbie. The speakers I am considering are Polk Audio:
Center Channel: 255C-RT
Wall Speaker: MC85
Ceiling Speaker Great Room: MC80
Ceiling Speaker Porch: RC80i or RC60i (do I need the 80s or will 60s be plenty?)
Ceiling Speaker Bedroom: MC60
Ceiling Speaker Kitchen/Bath: not sure, any suggestions?
I have not even looked at receivers yet. Any suggestions on those also? I am thinking I will need 2 receivers. 1 for bath/bedroom and 1 for everything else. How does this sound?
I am attaching a pic of my floorplan.

Sponsored Links
post #2 of 12 Old 06-17-13, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Re: Need Help With Home Audio Speaker Placement

It would not let me attach a pic. It said I need 5 posts. Is there anyone that could post it for me? If not, I will have to post it after I get 5 posts I guess.
post #3 of 12 Old 06-17-13, 11:26 AM
HTS Senior Moderator