Looking to build budget 2.1 system - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 13 Old 10-22-11, 12:51 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
Ian

Looking to build budget 2.1 system

Hello everyone!

I am a student and I do various music mixing and listening at all volumes and I am looking for a nice 2.1 system for my dorm room (relatively small). I currently am using Bose companion 3 setup but I find it to be slightly lacking in the low end and with some distortion in the higher volume ranges. I play a lot of dance music featuring lots of synths as well as the occasional "dubstep" style song (heavy, modulated baselines). I am looking for a system which outperforms my Bose system in this respect and offers me a nice low end, full sound. The only source of audio will be from a computer. For an amplifier/receiver unit I do not require any special features other than 2.1 sound and relatively good sound quality. My budget is around 500-1000 dollars (student) and I have no problem buying used or refurbished gear or from places like eBay. I would love some advice or community input on what I should get that will serve me a nice full bassy sound for these types of music. If any other additional info is required or if I have left something out, please let me know. Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 10-22-11, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
Ian

Re: Looking to build budget 2.1 system

I should also mention that the speakers themselves would have to be of the bookshelf variety as space is at a premium, but any size sub will do as I have plenty of under-desk space. Thanks again!
post #3 of 13 Old 10-22-11, 08:18 AM
Elite Shackster

Jack

Hello,
For 1000 Dollars, you could put together a really nice 2.1 setup. Especially, if also looking at used gear. I would highly recommend checking out Stereophile Magazine as they have a whole Section devoted to value gear and there are many Reviews there.