Thanks for having me! - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

1Likes

post #1 of 20 Old 03-26-16, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Cool Thanks for having me!

Hi Folks,

I've popped in to your site from time to time, and I'm not certain if I can keep up to many here (patience please), but I thought I'd join and see what I can learn, and maybe contribute a little from time to time.

I'm from the West Coast of Canada, born in Vancouver, BC. I still live in a suburb nearby with my wife and youngest adult son. I am a licenced Electrician with Electrical Technician level training many years ago. After more than a decade on the tools, I moved away from them over 15 years ago, moving into Technical Sales. Presently I work for one of the worlds largest Mining Process Equipment Suppliers as the Capital Equipment Sales Manager for the Pacific Northwest. I dabble in building and repairing Windows based Computers for Friends and Family -only as a hobby, but listening to music has been a life long passion. I've seen hundreds of concerts, and continue to see them today, but I'm getting pickier on the venues. (The Football Stadiums are now only for Bucket List Artists like Paul McCartney a couple years back. )

My migration to Home Theater was natural. As production evolved from Vinyl to CD so did I, similarly from VHS Hi Fi to DVDs => and eventually Blue Rays. From Stereo to Dolby Surround Sound, to DTS 5.1, and then 6.1 - now to DTS HD Master / Dolby HD. One day I was walking past a Sony Store in a local Mall, (in about 1998) and I saw a concert on a Big Screen TV (for the day) through the window playing Music for Monserrat. I went in and listened, and from then on I was hooked on Concert DVDs. I now own well over 150 => and stopped counting so my wife wouldn't know.