Hi there - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 13 Old 05-31-06, 12:10 AM Thread Starter
Friend of the Shack
Hi there

My name is Otto, and I've been interested in audio/HT since I was a kid. Actually, I used to be more audio, but I've grown to be probably 50/50 music and theater. I listen to music in the background and throughout the house all the time, but I just don't have as much time to sit down and listen critically to 2-channel audio as I used to. I've grown my system into a decent HT/music combo over the years. I'm still never 100% sure about the DefTechs as 2-channel mains -- the whole bipolar thing -- but I believe they do well enough. I think placement is key, and I haven't dialed that in 100% yet. Sometimes I even listen to music in DPL music mode (and enjoy it!). On the other hand, I do belive that the DefTechs rock for movies.

I live and work in Colorado, have been married for 7 years and have a six-week old baby. I'm an electrical engineer doing firmware work for a large company. I also like playing guitar (and bass and sometimes drums), trying to "make music", "actually" making beer (and drinking it!), snowboarding, hiking, computers and home improvement, among other things.

My system definitely isn't a home theater proper, but rather an everyday living room system. It works pretty well for us. My wife even admits (sometimes, if I prod) that she appreciates all my hard work...

Here are some pics of my current system. Not the greatest photos, and I'm going to try to make some "nice" ones. I may screw up actually posting the pics, so we'll see if they actually make it on the first try...

1. Full front. Note that the room opens at the left edge of the pic -- you can see the steps. Open on two sides.
Hi there-dscn4223.jpg

2. Looking back, away from the TV. Black out shade does pretty good, but some light still gets through. Not as much as the pic shows, though; definitely not that bright.
Hi there-dscn4236.jpg