Finally joining the fun - Home Theater Forum and Systems -

post #1 of 12 Old 09-16-13, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Finally joining the fun

Hi Folks,

So I joined this site a while back just to get the REW software. Well, now that I've build my first sub and am looking to do front speaker build figured I'd jump into the mix as I'm sure I'll be asking the good people of this forum for some advise along the way.

Just a little bit about me... I'm an engineer that worked my way through college as a woodworker so I like to think I'm pretty cut out for this sort of thing...sorry about that pun. The degree was mechanical but grew up with as electrical engineer for a father and still spend some time tinkering with electronics. I'm currently living in the soutwest VA area where I went to school (go Hokies!!) and snagged a job. This keeps me close to the AT and no too far away from some decent slopes in the winter.

Over the past year or so I dove into the home audio thing. While I've always appreciated quality sound (those RB-61s were about my first purchase once I had a good job) I'm feel like I'm just starting to get my head into this HiFi thing. Which really means I'm realizing how little I know.

The mania started with sound panels. I'm in a little apartment (rent's cheap and the neighbors are cool) but the room is tiny and opens the the kitchen so not very conducive to good sound. After playing with REW and Dayton mic I took the plunge and bought a bunch of Roxul and build a nearly free standing 8' wide by 6' tall angled panel on the rear and front top and bottom traps. This was without a doubt the single best improvement I've made to the system. At least in terms of sound, no way it would pass WAF, but there are some perks of the single life.

Since then I snagged the Polk Monitor series center channel to replace the crummy Polk RM8 center and then cycled out the remaining surrounds as Newegg cleared out the rest of the Polk Monitors for the newer models.