Hi from a newbie eager to learn! - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 11 Old 09-26-13, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
Hi from a newbie eager to learn!

Hi everyone! My name is Ken (AKA Soupy, named after the comedian). I am a complete audio newbie who is here to hopefully learn from the pros on the forum.

I was directed here after doing a quick search on this REW program I keep hearing about. This past year I decided to turn a small room downstairs into a cheap theater room. I bought a BenQ W710ST, Painted a screen on the wall, and bought a cheap HTIB from newegg. Never had a decent sound system besides the 2 channel Cerwin Vegas I had in the late 80's early 90's in college. I sold those to a friend when I came home from college. Anyway after a month with cheap surround sound I decided I wanted more. I gave my son My HTIB for his room. I bought a used pair of Klipsch RF-15 for L/R and RC-25 for center (similar to the RF-52 & RC-52). I purchased a new pair of Klipsch RB-61ii for surrounds. I got a old Yamaha (no HDMI) with the used Klipsch but being a complete newb I wanted something with room correction so I bought a Denon 2113CI with Audessy XT. I also bought a used Klipsch 10" Sub with those used fronts but it was not big enough for my theater room so my son got another upgrade in his room. I bought the HSU VTF-3 MK4. I did all this about 7 months ago. The used stuff came from my brother which he bought new at the end of 2007.

Everything seemed fine but I decided I wanted to add a second HSU VTF-3MK4 because I have caught the bass bug. I have not ordered the Sub yet but I will next week. In the meantime I want to learn everything about properly setting the subs up. I keep hearing about REW so I thought I would look into that to see how hard it would be to at least use the program to collect measurements and hopefully be able to post them for more experienced help in reading them.