Hi from Alaska, new to HTS - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 7 Old 05-14-14, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
My System
Post Hi from Alaska, new to HTS

Hi folks. I basically joined so I could download Room EQ Wizard. I've been an audio nut most of my life starting at around age 12 when my dad brought home a tiny 3" reel to reel tape recorder that ran on 4 C cells and a 9 volt battery. It sounded horrible, but I loved that it could record sounds and play them back. I recorded everything you could think of. Doors slamming, cars starting, lawnmowers running, dogs barking. I was a newb to the audio world and was hooked. It was such a big deal to me when I got my 1st recorder with capstan drive. Then came cassettes. Oh baby... I owned several portable monophonic models, but my leap into the real world of HiFi was when I got my mom to cosign a loan for me so I could get a serious setup. My first hifi rig consisted of a Harman Kardon 330 receiver, a Garrard SL72 turntable with a Pickering cartridge, a pair of Utah 3way speakers and my pride and joy was the Harman Kardon CAD-4 cassette deck. I even bought an external Dolby unit for it, the TEAC AN50. I wore that deck out and upgraded to an ADVENT 201. That was an awesome deck, and for 1971, 280.00 was quite pricey. It made excellent recordings and had a transport built by 3M/Wollensak. I later upgraded to a Pioneer turntable, and a set of the large Advent speakers. I traded out the HK330 for a Scott integrated amp with more power. This system did me service during my first term in the Air Force from 1972 to 1976. During that time I acquired many albums and audio gadgets, one being a DBX 117. That little baby opened my eyes to what real dynamic range was about. Through circumstances of my own doing, I had to sell all my gear and rejoined the Air Force. This was 1981. At Offutt AFB, Omaha, I met my future wife and got married April 1982, but not before I had acquired a new setup. It was a used, but w