Mid Range AVR, I'm completely lost - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 3 Old 04-24-16, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Question Mid Range AVR, I'm completely lost

Hello,
I'm a newbie to this, and I'm setting a new system for my apartment, I've got the speakers and the sub set up, now I'm hunting for a decent receiver, and the more I dig the more confused i get...

I have a large room (approximately 1000 sqft or 100 m²) where I have a side dedicated for the home theatre with a 5.1 system, in the same room, on the opposide side there's an open kitchen/dining area where I placed two ceiling spekers for ambient sound (no TV), the idea is to be able to play either all channels, the home theatre only or only the two in the dining area, here's what I've got so far as speakers:

Home Theatre 5.1 :
  • L + R Klipsch R-5800-WII
  • C Klipsch R-5502-W
  • Surround 2 x Klipsch R-5650-C
  • Subwoofer Klipsch SW 112

Zone 2:
  • 2 x Boston Acoustics CS460

Looking at AVRs I have trouble deciding between the following ones:

Denon AVR-X4200W
Onkyo TX-RZ800
Marantz SR6010
Pioneer Elite SC82

Would all satisfy my requirement of power and zone playing? How would that work in practice for the ones that only seem to have an analog signal for zone2? Do i need another aplifier? The Onkyo seems to have a dedicated set of speaker terminals for zone 2, which I find interesting, but my ignorance might be playing a role here...

Thank you home theatre gurus!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 04-24-16, 10:04 AM
Elite Shackster

Jeff

My System