Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Black Widow, The German experience (for beginners).

17K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Harpmaker 
#1 ·
This is my experience on trying to paint a screen. I am far from an expert on both home cinema and at being a painter so I intend to keep this as non technical as possible. I also intend as much as possible to only give the facts of my experience.

The results: my post would not be possible without the help of this forum and especially Harpmaker who did the tests you see below. Thank you very much.

First I see so often people asking the question what are people doing with this paint what is it all about. The research and testing into a process named Black Widow Ultra is about getting the right paint or paint mix that is as neutral in color as possible. As far as I understand if the paint is not neutral then it will affect for example the colors you will see when your projector shines on it.

The second major idea is to get a tone of grey that works for your projector and room. This is totally dependent on your own set of facts and in the end your personal opinion. In my case I wanted something pretty light in tone. I think my projector (a Panasonic PT-AT6000) is fairly bright but you need to decide or work this out by reference to your projectors abilities, the type of room (totally dark or a living room with ambient light and white walls) and size of your screen. You really need to research this yourself. You will find these kinds of questions in this forum.

Usually in this forum you are going to see tone values with a “N” and told to buy a neutral grey with this tone. N10 is white and N3 pretty black. I personally choose something around the N8 – N9 values. Once you have this N value you can go to this thread here - Link to the color code thread. and choose a color code which as close as possible matches this N value.