Wilsonart Designer White or White Matte screen material ? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 14 Old 03-23-10, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Jim

Wilsonart Designer White or White Matte screen material ?

I'm trying to decide which way to go. If I go with the screen material, I would buy the pulldown screen, cut the material off and use my wood frame. I just don't know if the screen material is pliable enough to get a tight fit on the frame with staples.

1) Designer White laminate screen

2) Elite "Max White", 1.1 gain screen material, textured, black backing, model # M120UWH2

3) Draper "Accuscreens" in matte white, gain I assume is 1, black backing, model # 800008

Thanks for any advice. I want to decide ASAP.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-23-10, 09:53 PM
Moderator Emeritus
Don

Re: Wilsonart Designer White or White Matte screen material ?

Hi Jim, welcome to the forum!

I have no direct knowledge of working with either DW or commercial screens, but since you seem to be in a hurry I'll jump in here with info based on common sense (I hope) and the experiences of others.

Designer White is a good white screen by itself and after it is mounted it is by far the easiest to keep clean, especially if you have little ones that might mistake that large white area on the wall as a target for their artistic expression (crayons, jelly etc.); most things just wipe off with a damp cloth.

While it may be possible to purchase a retractable screen and then remove the fabric or vinyl from that screen and mount it to a fixed frame, I would be concerned that the material might stretch or sag over time. Mech or someone else familiar with commercial screens might be able to tell you if the screens you mentioned are fiberglass backed or not. I think a purely vinyl screen would be more prone to stretching/sagging than one backed with 'glass.