Advice on Anamorphic designer white screen - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 6 Old 06-02-11, 02:30 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
Bill

Advice on Anamorphic designer white screen

I am not a total newbie but need advice on a DIY build. I presently have a 98" DIY screen I built about 3 years ago using information posted mostly by Wbasset. This screen worked flawlessly until a few months back when the Blue polarizer on my PLV-Z5 started causing problems like a yellowish color and symptoms like a weak lamp. Through research it appears that it is time to upgrade my system. I have decided for my purposes that Laminate would be my best option for a 2.35 screen. My problem is I am having to approach this in stages. Presently my projector is mounted in another room and is projecting through a cutout 16' from the screen. I am in the process of completing that room which will be a kitchen. In order to do this I must redo how my projector is housed without changing it's location. Since I am redoing my projector space, I am completely redoing how AV equipment is located. It is now in cabinets below my screen with a 50' HMDI cable running in the overhead to the projector. I plan to move all of this equipment to the back wall under my projector. I plan to have two separate HEPA filter systems routed above my new Kitchen cabinets, one to the projector cabinet and one to the AV cabinet.

At this point I am not sure what my projector will be, but I know I want it to be 1080p, and eventually I want it to have an anamorphic lens. Because of the timing on all of this redoing I am faced with building my 2.35 curved screen before I have a lens for my Projector. What can I expect from a visual standpoint projecting a un-morph image on a curved screen. I will be projecting 16 feet to a 50"/119" 2.37 screen built on a 40' arc.