Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   DIY Screens (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-screens/)
-   -   Cream&Sugar™ or Black Widow™? (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-screens/47386-cream-sugar-black-widow.html)

tobyjh 06-26-11 03:10 PM

Cream&Sugar™ or Black Widow™?

Hello,

Seems like Harpmaker is the man of action lately with C&S Ultra. I'll follow some other posters in saying that I'm new to screen painting. I built a screen back in January that worked great, but I just moved into a house with more room and am ready to expand.

I started off researching black widow when someone mentioned having a large screen and mech or someone as knowledable said to check out the Cream&Sugar mix which lead straight to here. I greatly appreciate all the knowledge flowing through this thread and hope that Harpmaker or mech or someone can point me in the correct direction if I'm way out of bounds. Here's some specs that I've already got:

I have an Optoma TX1080 with specs and measurements from ProjectorCentral
1920x1080 resolution, 3600 ANSI lumens, 2200:1 contrast
113/12 = 9.42 ft
63/12 = 5.25 ft
9.42*5.25 = 49.455 sq/ft

My room is painted Red with a white ceiling and moderate light. This is a pretty bright projector and light doesnt seem to effect it too much. Its not technically a home theater projector but it looked better than all the other ones I saw in my few months of looking.

I have a 19'x11' room, which will give around 129" screen (113"x63"). I read the BW would turn out too dark on a screen of this size and that C&S Ultra being N9.2 would be much more beneficial for me. Would you recommend sanding the area that the screen will go on before?