Designing some speakers, need a little help. - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 16 Old 03-26-08, 08:33 AM
Nathbonn
Inactive

Designing some speakers, need a little help.

Hello, I'm a product designer at Sheffield Hallam in the UK and have decided to design some speaker for one of my projects, to be honest I started this project thinking it would be pretty straight forward but i was badly mistaken.

Up to now the I've decided I'm going to design some floor standing speakers with the general 3 speaker system, high, mid and low speaker separation and will be using a nice looking solid wood and the Biwire system, but im struggling to make decisions on what type of material to use for the components.

So here are some of the questions I'm after to progress with this project, hopefully some light can be shed on these questions.

First of all tweeters. Amongst other materials I've seen aluminum and titanium tweeter, what is generally the best material for a set of main speakers for the home when it comes to sound quality? or is there some kind of future material coming on the scene which is not really known about yet?

Also there are all kinds of tweeter like AMT or ribbon tweeter and many more, generally what type is used for a loudspeaker and sufficient for general home use?

Domes, paper, plastic or kevlar? I have to admit I am going for the Kevler up to now as I just think it looks cool, but does this material have any benefit over paper or plastic or vice versa when it comes to sound quality? or again, is there any kind of wildcard material which is not really known about?

Speaker spikes, do these really have any kind of benefit on sound quality?