Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   DIY Speakers (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-speakers/)
-   -   Passive Crossovers Guide (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-speakers/24176-passive-crossovers-guide.html)

dyohn 12-31-09 04:38 PM

Passive Crossovers Guide

Here's the first of what I hope to be a growing series of articles concerning designing and building passive crossovers. I hope you find this useful.

David Yohn

Crossover Components and Assembly

I’ve been designing loudspeaker systems since 1977 and have done so both as a DIY’er and professionally for commercial companies. Crossover design is one of the most difficult parts of loudspeaker building, and can be quite confusing for some people. I don’t claim to know it all, nor do I claim that my opinions are the only valid ones: there are as many different ways to approach loudspeaker design as there are designers. This is simply a few ideas I’ve learned over the years in an attempt to help you get started.

This first article is not a tutorial to teach you how to design crossovers. I will not discuss the merits of crossover topologies or choosing the correct points and slopes or whether series or parallel or Linkwitz or Bessel is the best sounding. Those articles may come later. This guide simply outlines a few ideas that I think are important to keep in mind when choosing and laying out your crossover components, and offers a few tips and ideas about construction and component selection.