...in need of enclosure advice regarding 15-inch woofer - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 30 Old 06-08-09, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Tattz

...in need of enclosure advice regarding 15-inch woofer

Hi all, this is my first post on these forums.

I have recently purchased a 15 inch subwoofer from The Source (formerly RadioShack) which of course came with no thiele/small parameters or anything that would help me determine what kind of enclosure would best work for it. I called both customer service and their distributors, and nobody had any information on even a user manual for this thing.

As a musician, i require good spl at 24hz and up...ideally if I can achieve good volume at 20hz then I'd be happy. Also I'm aiming for a good flat response across the bass frequency spectrum.

Here's what information i can provide about the driver. It's rated at 100watts of RMS power at 8 ohms impedance. It has 29.9oz magnet, it's supposed frequency response is 25hz-2khz (though i've tested it with a full frequency sweep and it goes down to 1hz without any distortion or clipping problems). Oh yeah, and the cone material is polypropylene.

On the Source's website, a user suggested a 7 cubic foot enclosure (though he didn't specify whether it should be ported or sealed), and my original plan was to go for a sealed enclosure since those tend to provide the flattest bass response.

Also, if it helps, the room it'll be in (my studio) is very small, about the size of a small apartment's bedroom.

Any help or advice would be deeply appreciated. Thank you in advance for you time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 06-08-09, 03:16 PM
Senior Shackster
Fredm

Re: ...in need of enclosure advice regarding 15-inch woofer

I don't think 100RMS is going to get you flat to 20Hz or even 25Hz. My advice is another driver or bolt it into a box and go from there.

This looks like the same specs

http://support.radioshack.com/suppor...oc60/60539.htm