Crossover Confusion - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 9 Old 09-25-09, 08:53 AM Thread Starter
DQ

Crossover Confusion

Hi Guy's, Im a complete beginner who wants to build a set of 3way speakers as a present for my sons up coming 18th. I want to build them from the ground up. In the research I have done, I see the greatest challange being designing & building the 3w XO, as I am a carpenter and not an electrical engineer. Can you please give me some advice on where I should look to get easy to understand info on the subject. I will me using Peerless speakers, as they are what I can afford & are obtainable here in Oz.

DQ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-25-09, 01:05 PM
Senior Shackster
mjg100

Re: Crossover Confusion

I would not recommend tackling a new design from the ground up for a first speaker project. Success at that is a lot harder than you think. Buy a kit. There are several out there that are good ones. Since you are a carpenter I would get one of the kits that provides everything except the cabinet.
post #3 of 9 Old 09-25-09, 01:08 PM
Kevin

Quote:
DQ828 wrote: View Post
Hi Guy's, Im a complete beginner who wants to build a set of 3way speakers as a present for my sons up coming 18th. I want to build them from the ground up. In the research I have done, I see the greatest challange being designing & building the 3w XO, as I am a carpenter and not an electrical engineer. Can you please give me some advice on where I should look to get easy to understand info on the subject. I will me using Peerless speakers, as they are what I can afford & are obtainable here in Oz.

DQ
Well... I'm sorry but there just isn't an easy solution. Most people spend years learning how to design loudspeakers and invest not just hundreds of hours into the process, but many thousands of dollars on test equipment, failed designs, parts, software and educational materials.