Want super low freq responce & lots of output. Advise? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 21 Old 02-10-12, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Want super low freq responce & lots of output. Advise?

I am new to the Diy game and am looking for suggestions on building a good ported sub to be used in my hometheater. I am sort of handy with tools and feel pretty confident in my skills. I do not have any experience with design software and honestly don't know where to start in terms of learning to use it. So with that in mind, I would like to find a build that someone else has already done, or I am possibly going to have Gperkins_1973 do the actual design as I believe that will be the easiest way to go about this. Here are my goals:

1. Sub needs to go down to 16hz while maintaining some good output.
2. Sub needs to have plenty of output in general.

I have absolutely no size restrictions and am not concerned with WAF appeal. This box can be big and ugly, so long as it has lots of output and reaches down to 16hz or lower. My room is approx 14 x 20. I will probably use an EP2500 or one of the other proamp I have access to. I can get these proamps for dirt cheap as my cousin works at a guitar shop and gets a hefty discount. I know absolutely nothing with regards to drivers, so any suggestions you guys would have for drivers, would be nice. I will probably build two or three of these bad boys due to the room being so large.

Suggestions on cabinet designs?
Suggestions on other members prior sub builds that would suit my goals?
Suggestions on drivers?

Last edited by Jetjones; 02-11-12 at 08:02 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 02-10-12, 10:06 PM
HTS Senior Moderator

Papi

Re: Want super low freq responce & lots of output. Advise?

Have a look in the Subwoofer database for all the different builds that have been done already.
http://www.hometheatershack.com/inde...wooferprojects

What is your budget?