Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   DIY Subwoofers - General Discussion (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-subwoofers-general-discussion/)
-   -   Trouble for the 21" curved box build (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-subwoofers-general-discussion/99849-trouble-21-curved-box-build.html)

corock 11-11-14 01:25 PM

Trouble for the 21" curved box build

I've been enjoying my 21" DIY sub for 4 years now, but I've hit a problem.

http://i878.photobucket.com/albums/a...k/P1000507.jpg

The other day I was doing some rewiring in my audio rack and I think I accidentally turned up the gain on the ep4000 powering my sub. I was taking a shower with the system turned to the maximum I would normally turn it up to and when I went back into the living room there was a loud rattling sound coming from the driver. It wasn't a clunk like it was hitting a stopper, but a metallic rattle like something was loose. I took it apart and the noise seems to be coming from the center of the cone. You can hear the noise pretty good on the you tube vid. I don't know much about repairing subs. I'm looking for advice on if this can be fixed. If not I guess I'll have to start looking for a replacement driver for my enclosure.

Andre 11-11-14 01:39 PM

Re: Trouble for the 21" curved box build

try manually lifting the speaker cone and inspect the spider for brakes. Could also be the voicecoil

theJman 11-11-14 01:42 PM

To me it sounds like the voice coil might be rubbing up against the magnet. If that's true there's probably little you can do with it, given the company is out of business.

alfa-74 11-11-14 01:43 PM

Quote:

corock wrote: (Post 981969)
I've been enjoying my 21" DIY sub for 4 years now, but I've hit a problem.