Painted Wall versus Actual Screen - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 19 Old 11-03-15, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
Jeremy

My System
Painted Wall versus Actual Screen

Hi All,

I am new to this hobby...I use to be really into flying 3d RC airplanes, but just recently sold everything RC related to invest in a home theater (after seeing my planes sit in the garage collecting dust for over a year because I never have time to fly, I figured it was time to let them go...it was hard, I almost cried, but I cut the cord and said good bye to that chapter of my life). I am quickly realizing this could easily be my next addiction, that is, trying to get the perfect home theater experience. Anyway, what I am trying to decide now is whether to spend my limited funds on a projection screen or just project onto a white wall. When I first started down this road, I thought it was a no brainier, I should get an actual screen. However, now that I have my projector and I am seeing the quality of the picture on my plain white wall painted with white Kilz2, I actually do not see how the picture quality could improve much because it already looks so good.

My viewing environment is 100% light controlled (it will be mostly completely dark when viewing). I am using the BenQ HT1075 as my projector.