Replacing headphone for movies/gaming - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 8 Old 11-22-15, 08:50 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Replacing headphone for movies/gaming

Hello, I am a headphone newbie. I already use an HT system but, aside from applying room correction, Dynamic Volume (for night time) and turning down the volume, I'd still love to crank the volume up on a full-scale surround sound configuration without annoying everyone around me, particularly when I watch movies or game at night. The solution for me is a headphone.

This is my current headphone night time setup:

1.) Denon AVR-1712 > Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro 80.

Alternatively I can use the following audio setup as well:

2.) Asus Xonar DX Sound Card > O2 Headphone Amp > Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro 80.

Certain features I'm looking for are:

1.) Open-back
2.) Natural sound
3.) LFE bass (from movies/games)
4.) Comfort/circumaural

I'm replacing Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro 80 because it is:
1.) mostly used for music
2.) closed-back
3.) when plugged into the AVR for certain movies/games, it crackles/clips during noticeable low frequencies, i.e., rumbling deep low bass

My budget is $500 or more. Any advice is appreciated. TIA!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-28-15, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Re: Replacing headphone for movies/gaming

It seems headphones for movies/gaming are relatively unpopular in this forum but if anyone wants to chime in, after some googling here are some headphones I'm deciding between the following. I am considering trying them all out but I'd rather narrow down my choices to a couple or few.

$700 - Beyerdynamic T1 Tesla
$550 - Beyerdynamic T90
$300 - HiFiMAN HE-400i
$258 - Beyerdynamic DT 990 Premium/Edition (600 Ohm)
$215 - AKG K7XX Massdrop LE
$60 - Pioneer SE-A1000 (Comparable to $400 Sennheiser HD650, according to Head-Fi members)

My updated order of preference is comfort, bass for movies/games, soundstage, rock/metal music.