My crazy bass trap design, with waterfalls! - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 18 Old 06-08-15, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

My crazy bass trap design, with waterfalls!

Hi everyone, first real post. I used REW to measure my bass traps, and picked up a few good construction tips from this site, so I figured I should make at least one post about how they went.

So it's a variation on a limp mass absorbers, or membrane absorbers, whatever. The real difference in design is having a series of internal resonator panels to capture different angles, and a front loaded suspended mass with a striking plate mounted to an airtight membrane. It's basically a reverse speaker cabinet with reverse spring reverb.

I have a few more pictures on my own website linked here:
SHAMELESS SELF PROMOTION

But I'll cover the pertinent info here, and maybe someone can even give me a bit of feedback on overall impact, since I have no experience with traps before this, and therefor no real idea of how well they work (other than they seem to a bit).

My crazy bass trap design, with waterfalls!-basstraps10.jpg

So that's the core of the inside. Three large absorbing panels, with vertically stacked one for good measure. I tried to keep in mind room for air, but the idea was that as the bass frequencies move through the enclosure, they hit multiple dampeners, and any reflections still have to pass through multiple dead zones. This isn't really any different from a basic sealed cabinet design from what I can tell, except for the use of the other walls. Also maybe having suspending striking plates was kind of a brainwave.

My crazy bass trap design, with waterfalls!-basstraps13.jpg