In need of a little acoustical advice. Room layout included. - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 34 Old 01-23-07, 06:56 PM
George
Inactive

In need of a little acoustical advice. Room layout included.

Hi, I have recently built a dedicated theater room which I enjoy tremendously, but I would really love some input and advice on some things that I could do to make my listening experience even better. I have included the floor plan for the room in this thread, so as to give you a better idea what I am facing when trying to improve the sound quality in this space. The layout isn't ideal, but it was all I had to work with in my budget.

My biggest issue is that I have far too little bass in the room for what I was expecting when I purchased my sub. The Velodyne is rated at 1000 watts with a 15" woofer, so I am a bit surprised that I am not getting the response I expected. This could be a very general question, as I am new to this whole level of critical listening, but I "feel" something is off. After reviewing the room and equipment, if anyone has any opinion or comments to make on this issue , or my system in general, please feel free to share it. I appreciate any advice or constructive criticism. All are welcome. Thanks!

My Room

My Equipment

Infocus IN76 DLP Projector
92" Screen Innovations Fixed Screen
Harmon Kardon 635 A/V Receiver
Control4 Home Theater Controller
Sony DVP-CX995V 400 Disc DVD Changer
Pioneer PD-F1009 301-Disc Changer
Bell ExpressVu 9200 / 9220 Dual HDTV Tuner PVR
Xbox 360 (patched into home network)
Athena Audition AS-B2 Speakers (1 pair)
Athena Audition AS-R2 Bi-pole Surrounds (1 pair)
Athena Audition AS-C1 Center Channel Speaker
Velodyne DLS-5000R Subwoofer
Furman Elite 15 Power Conditioner (Components)
Furman AC-215 Compact Power Conditioner (Projector)

Last edited by George; 01-23-07 at 07:50 PM. Reason: upgraded account to allow photos.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 01-23-07, 06:59 PM