Seeking advice for best audio compromise for multipurpose room - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 17 Old 10-11-11, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
Ryan

Seeking advice for best audio compromise for multipurpose room

Hello,

Barring a job loss prior to implementation (estimating this January for purchases), I'll be finally setting up a front projector in the basement family room this year. I've been researching off and on for ~6 years, so while I'm anxious to pull the trigger, I'm also patient. The basement itself has been 98% finished for about 2 years, only low voltage work remains. I ran conduit to likely needed locations when I built it as well as power to the ceiling where I intend to hang the projector.

My goal with this thread is to try to reach the best compromise in the space with respect to audio quality. Given the odd room geometry and limitations due to it's multi-use nature I recognize the final result will necessarily be sub-optimal. What's the best balance of speaker budget, placement, 1 sub vs 2, room treatments, etc? My goal is to try to answer those questions.

I have attached 2 files. One shows the entire basement layout for broad context. The other is an MS paint "drawing" of the "family room" detail (rotated 90 degrees CCW from the floor plan drawing). As you can see, the room is, broadly speaking, 16' x 19' x 8' high.

Users will be me, wife, 6yo kid and eventually the currently 20 month old kid. It will be a mix of music, video games and movies, TV, both day watching and night time (including when everyone but me is asleep). I'm open to headphone use to keep the volume down when necessary.