Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   Home Audio Acoustics (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/home-audio-acoustics/)
-   -   Help addressing slap echo (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/home-audio-acoustics/164298-help-addressing-slap-echo.html)

nickwin 01-28-17 02:43 PM

Help addressing slap echo

6 Attachment(s)
I've been slowly working on my combined music/theater room for a while but I've really struggled with a slap echo problem and I'm not sure how to address it in this particular case. Its a pretty crazy/complex room to deal with (and I am by no means an expert). Its a small rectangular room about 14'x10' but its open with a large hallway in the from left corner. My fronts are 7' apart and 7' from the listening position. Its in a basement, concrete bricks with drywall over it. Most of the front wall is exposed concrete brick, there is a glass sliding door on the back wall with a light curtain over it. The floor is carpet over concrete and the ceiling is about 1/3 "acoustic tile" around the edge and 2/3 drywall.

In this little room I have 2 Magnepan 1.6's, a CC3 center and 2 MC1 on wall dipoles. Bass response in this room is pretty bad even with two subs in opposite corners, so I'm using 2 GIK corner traps, one in each back corner. I also have a GIK standard bass trap on each side wall at the first reflection points of my fronts in an effort to tame the high end reverb and tighten up the image. Im using Dirac for EQ.

Its been a long process of trial and error taming the bass resonances, maintaining a solid image for my fronts, eliminating slap echo while not making the room completely dead. Iv learned that in this small of a room a few panels go a long way.