An Average Guy’s Home Theater Upgrade Adventure - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 5 Old 03-26-16, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

My System
An Average Guy’s Home Theater Upgrade Adventure

New member here. I decided to contribute the work on my modest home theater as some of it may be of use to others. There will be no dedicated theater room additions or new home build journal so set your expectations accordingly, haha.
Quick background about me... I’m an electrical engineer in New England and the goal of my project was to upgrade my equipment to address an issue I was having with my previous receiver (Harman Kardon AVR-254) and to enhance my audio quality performance (via both room correction and a better designed audio section). And I’ve wanted to move to separates so that I could more easily upgrade in the future.
So after weighing all my needs and options, I decided on the Emotiva XMC-1 A/V Processor and XPA-5 5 channel amplifier pairing.

So before actually installing my new components, I had to install two pair of Accuride 100lb slides. My plan was to allow for easier access to the rear of the components. And since the amp weight about 90lbs, it’ll be especially convenient for that component.
To put them in, I had to first make some vertical ‘mounting blocks.’ Then spray paint them black. I made them out of two layers of ¾” MDF, glued together.

After cutting the existing shelf shorter and then making and staining a new panel, I was ready mate the slides together. After that, I cleaned the space out and started to reconnect everything.[/SIZE]

For balanced new cables that installed, I used Gotham Audio GAC4/1 cable and Nuetrik XLR’s.
So with all the cables in, the amp’s shelf wouldn’t close!