Help with room design please - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 16 Old 04-11-10, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
Doc
Shackster
Doc

Help with room design please

I have built a dedicated theater over the garage - in the attic space. No windows, with about 22 x 15 ft room. While under construction, I thought creating columns in the room to add looks and also "to break up the audio waves, and create better acoustic design". Well, that was before I had time to read anything for acoustics.

Now, I think I may have made mistake. I have attached the line drawing of my theater room. I am not good at CAD or sketchup, so I used simple line drawings. The jpg shows footprint of the room and gives a good information about the columns I mention. The pdf shows how the room is insulated. The blue line shows minimum of five inch of Icynene insulation. Underneath the room is garage, separated by 2"x 6" and mostly filled with icynene insulation. The theater room walls are not insulated or filled with any material, just 2"x4" and the sheetrock. However, immediately outside that there is about 5 ft of attic space with is insulated on the outer side with this Icynene. Same goes for the roof. The room ceiling height is 8 feet in center but has vaulted ceilings on sides bringing them to six feet.

Now, my dilemma is should I just add acoustic treatment in corners, and some on the walls? or should I remove the columns and add acoustic treatment. If I remove the columns my wall treatments will include 2'x 4' of 4 inch 703 boards, in place of the columns. The corners will get the same treatment. I would appreciate any help from experts here. Should go through the pains of removing columns or it will not make much difference. I need to know this soon, as I am getting ready to order the carpet.

------------------