Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

Onkyo TX-NR609 setup questions

12K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  imtiaz 
#1 ·
I have just got my Onkyo TX-NR609 as of yesterday and have done the "basic" setup (connections, Audyssey etc). This is replacing my very satisfactory TX-SR606. I have a few questions and wonder if someone out there can help. BTW I'm not technically qualified but can do a few things right!

1. Since the TX-SR606 was not a 3D receiver I had to go for a Panny DMP-BDT310 3D BD player which has 2 x HDMI outs. I used the main one connecting my Optoma HD33 3D projector and the second one connected to the TX-SR606. This worked like a song. I also had HDMI Out of TX-606 split - one to the projector using another HDMI cable (Optoma has 2 x HDMI outs) and the other to my Panny plasma 50". Everything worked like a song.
The splitter is a 2-way from NEET, UK (a really good one). HDMI cables are Mediabridge Ultra series 3D-capable, ARC with ethernet and Bluerigger with similar specs. Both are 25 ft.

Since the TX-NR609 is 3D-capable, I have connected the Panny player direct to it using a Belkin High-speed 4K 10.2Gbs HDMI cable. I used the NEET splitter to now connecting the Optoma (with Mediabridge Ultra series HDMI) and the Panny plasma. Result? No 3D!

2. The sound and the feel of the TX-NR609 is great except I find there is lot of "boom". It appears the PSB fronts are producing a lot more bass and the sub less, which was not the case in the TX-SR606 setup. Possibly I have not got something right. I used the Aydessey to set up audio. However, I can use a radioshack sound level meter too.

3. I'm unable to move from Menu to Menu and back using the Remote Control. It appears sometimes it gets "frozen".

4. I have today got the firmware updated (after Items 1 & 2 above). Will this improve/solve anything?

I would greatly appreciate if someone provide me help. Thanks.

Imtiaz

See less See more
#2 ·