Blank slate - need recommendations on a screen/projector - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 36 Old 02-04-14, 03:56 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Blank slate - need recommendations on a screen/projector

Hi All,

I had considered going the DIY route with SF, however, bright spots will drive me nuts and I would love to avoid them if at all possible.

I am considering going the manufactured route as opposed to the DIY route as I worry DIY won't be quite as good as manufactured products that have lots of R&D behind them. I have been looking at Screen Innovations products, however, is it really worth the money?

I am not quite sure about gain or color for my application. It would likely be used with minimal ambient light, however, would also be nice to have some resistance to this if overhead lights were on and dimmed.

I am open to any recommendations and I am a newb when it comes to this stuff.

Here are a few photos of the area that I am working with:

http://postimg.org/gallery/70xafw5k/

It is roughly 15'x15' with 12' ceiling height with some distant ambient lighting. I would mount a screen either where the window is and make it easily removable (or even motorized) or put it where the tv is now.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 02-04-14, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Re: Blank slate - need recommendations on a screen/projector

Looking at possibly going with an Epson 5030UB. Seems like a great product for the price. The JVC DLA-X35 looks nice too but that is another 1k and I am not sure if it is worth it.
post #3 of 36 Old 02-04-14, 07:16 PM

Ron

My System