Not really a home theater freack but surely fascinated by acoustic - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 10 Old 04-24-16, 04:41 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Not really a home theater freack but surely fascinated by acoustic

Hello - very impressed by the quality of this forum I thought this could help me in my quest to sound !
I am from Belgium and I am basically a drummer (but a late starter).
Drums are load instruments and they always bring up issues when it comes to sound control who ever you are (rearshall, garage, performing, ...).
today I usually mic my instrument and try to control the whole signal send to the mixing table.

Now if I joined the forum it is basically related to a rearshall issue.
for neighbourhood reason I had to dig myself in the basement of my house for training on my instrument. I managed to isolate a ca. 10 - 12 m2 room where I can play without anoying too much the inhabitants of the house and the neighbours.
The isolation was made by covering walls and ceiling with raw panterre (acoustix) plates.
So it is working fine however the sound level of the drum into the room is hardly manageable (especially the cymballs and the snare are very agressive). For a while I did not care and was just playing with ear plugs or studio helmet.
Today it start to be very enoying because you loose all the dynamics and sensitivity of the instrument - I basically play without hearing me and this is not very efficient.
I imagine that improving the acoustic of the room is related to placing absorbers and diffracter but I would like to do this in a efficient way and not just trying by try and error (can take really long, can cost a lot and for an uncertain result).
So I have discovered the REW 5 tool and recoreder the response of my rearshall room. This should be a good step to understand what is going on and what potential solution is available.