Help planning, Si 18 ht Sonosub - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 15 Old 08-16-14, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

My System
Help planning, Si 18 ht Sonosub

Built the Statement Monitors and love them and now I am going to build a sub.

I only have room for one and it will be put in the corner behind my tv. I am planning on going with the SI 18 HT in a sonotube for ease of the build, moving it, and the enclosure needs to be tall.

I'm a noob when it comes to actually understanding all of the technical stuff so a little help is needed. The sub can be a total of 5'3" tall and about 24" diameter (not as critical). I would like a tune as low as possible with this size. I also need input on an amp, dsp, ect. I'm not really sure what all I have to have.

Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 08-17-14, 12:03 AM
Senior Shackster
Myles

Re: Help planning, Si 18 ht Sonosub

Just copy mine . Mine is a little taller than 5'3", so you'll probably have to tune ~16Hz instead of my 14Hz.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
<-- SOLD!

post #3 of 15 Old 08-17-14, 01:25 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

My System
Wood- I did see your build and I can't wait to see them finished. Either I missed it or you didn't say what you are using to power them and anything about dsp. I'm pretty unfamiliar with all that so I'm not sure what I need or absolutely have to have.

Also, what ohm rating should I get? Should I shoot for running an 8ohm load since it's easier on the amp?

post #4 of 15 Old 08-17-14, 09:35 PM
Senior Shackster
Myles