My SS RL-p15 build - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 67 Old 02-13-08, 02:36 AM Thread Starter
Elite Shackster
Maverick

My SS RL-p15 build *or maybe 18?*

I'm just starting out this project, but might as well start a thread on it now. I've more or less decided to go with the Rl-p15, unless any of you would object to that and give me a better driver in that price range. I have a long term plan with this. I'm building a house sometime in the next few years, and it will have a dedicated home theater. So the plan is to have 2 or most likely 4 RL-p15s by then and do a 'proper' build. I need some experience first, and will probably end up doing a few different designs. For now I'm starting off light with one driver and an EP-2500 to drive it.

I've looked at 'Jerm357's build here, and that seems like a very good place to start. It should fit my room nicely in one of the rear corners, and if it works I'll put another one somewhere.

I currently have an SVS PB12plus/2 that I'm happy with, except it feels a little 'slow' sometimes. Might be room or placement, but I can't seem to make it work no matter where I put it.

So I'm thinking RL-p15 in about 250l effective volume with around 15Hz tune. I would like to keep overall dimensions (outside) within 60cm by 120cm, for materials cost.

Any thoughts on how the DIY will compare to the PB12+/2?

Anything I should do different?
Will I need anything besides the box, driver and amp? I have a BFD.
As far as i can gather from the net, the EP-2500 can handle 220V AC, right? Are there differenet versions or does it have a switch? Do I want the 2ohm or the 4ohm version of the driver?

I have little woodworking skills, but I'm willing and eager to learn. I've made some room treatments before, corner traps and panels. Am I crazy to start on womething this big?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.