Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/)
-   Remotes | Cables | Accessories | Tweaks (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/remotes-cables-accessories-tweaks/)
-   -   Connect all HDMI to TV and optical to Receiver? (https://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/remotes-cables-accessories-tweaks/128097-connect-all-hdmi-tv-optical-receiver.html)

FargateOne 07-27-15 01:39 PM

Connect all HDMI to TV and optical to Receiver?

The technical service of my cable company gave me the following suggestion. I am suspicious because I am not an expert.
To get better sound in my 5.1 HT, he suggested to connect hdmi output from the DVD-player to hdmi input to the TV and to connect the hdmi out from the set-top box (cable decoder) to the tv (see my system in my profile) and a toslink cable from the tv to the receiver. He said that the optical would carry only audio signal for a better resut. Does this make sens ?
Actually, my connections are dvd and set-top to the receiver and from the recever to tv one hdmi.

Kal Rubinson 07-27-15 02:22 PM

Re: Connect all HDMI to TV and optical to Receiver?

Quote:

FargateOne wrote: (Post 1263777)
The technical service of my cable company gave me the following suggestion. I am suspicious because I am not an expert.
To get better sound in my 5.1 HT, he suggested to connect hdmi output from the DVD-player to hdmi input to the TV and to connect the hdmi out from the set-top box (cable decoder) to the tv (see my system in my profile) and a toslink cable from the tv to the receiver. He said that the optical would carry only audio signal for a better resut. Does this make sens ?
Actually, my connections are dvd and set-top to the receiver and from the recever to tv one hdmi.