NEW TO REW. Just got a Turtle Beach Audio Advantage. I need help hooking up. - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 12 Old 06-05-08, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Shackster
HionHiFi

My System
Send a message via AIM to HionHiFi Send a message via Yahoo to HionHiFi Send a message via Skype™ to HionHiFi
NEW TO REW. Just got a Turtle Beach Audio Advantage. I need help hooking up.

I'm new to REW as the title suggests, but not new to audio, however I am having a tough time getting the connections made so that can move calibrating the sound card (SC) and beyond. At this point I don't have a BFD, but I will soon. I want to take some measurements of my room. This is my goal currently.

I am using a Denon 3808ci Receiver. My question is how to take measurements not using a BFD in the loop? More specifically, which connection do I use on the Denon 3808ci from the line out of the Turtle Beach Audio Advantage SRM? Currently I have the line out going from the Audio Advantage SRM going to the 3808ci front panel AUX Input Right Channel.

What volume should I set the receiver at?
What db level should I set the RS 33-2050 at?

At this point, do I need to hook the subwoofer up, or can I with what I have.

Things I've already done:
  • Downloaded, installed REW
  • Installed Turtle Beach drivers, and REW "sees" it.
  • Made all the connections in the Help diagrams, with the exception of the subwoofer, and to the receiver. Because I'm not sure which to use.
  • Hooked up RS 33-2050 SPL Meter on tripod.
  • Loaded .cal into REW, but not the RS 33-2250 xls. file that I downloaded in the download section. Does that file do anything?

Again, I do not have a BFD yet, but would like to take some measurements of my room.

I have yet to make a connection to my subwoofer. Or if I even need to make a connection at this point, if I'm only taking measurements?

Any help you guys can provide would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by HionHiFi; 06-05-08 at 11:51 PM.