Does the auto EQ really work? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 05-18-15, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Does the auto EQ really work?

In working with REW for two years now, I find the auto EQ feature is not very good. I get far better results by manually running sweeps and tweaking my MiniDSP EQ's based on the REW results. A lot of trial and error but the auto EQ just doesn't even come close.

And I often get strange auto EQ settings with zero gain, IOW, they do nothing with zero gain. Is this a bug?

Am I missing something or is this like most labor savings applications? In that they can't compete with a precision time consuming manual tweak?

Also the auto EQ feature seems to be limited to 10khz? Why?

REW 5, UMIK-USB, USB to SPDIF DAC feeding MiniDSP hardware, all digital REW path.
Glimmie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 05-18-15, 05:22 PM
Elite Shackster
Wayne Myers
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 4,838
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

Quote:
Glimmie wrote: View Post
In working with REW for two years now, I find the auto EQ feature is not very good. I get far better results by manually running sweeps and tweaking my MiniDSP EQ's based on the REW results. A lot of trial and error but the auto EQ just doesn't even come close.
REW can give very good results via its filter values, but it usually takes playing with the EQ control parameters a bit to get there. It is not intended to be a hands-off, "let it figure everything out for you" program, but is a powerful tool with a lot of options.

However, I personally tend to agree with you that manual EQ can give satisfying results just as easily.

Quote:
And I often get strange auto EQ settings with zero gain, IOW, they do nothing with zero gain. Is this a bug?
I have not seen this. We'll see what John (the author) has to say.

Quote:
Am I missing something or is this like most labor savings applications? In that they can't compete with a precision time consuming manual tweak?
Your statement might be a little strong and over-generalized. Any such application must make certain assumptions. If they are not the same as the assumptions of the user, frustration is a likely outcome.

Quote:
Also the auto EQ feature seems to be limited to 10khz? Why?
It is pretty tough to do anything constructive with EQ above 10 kHz, other than roll off highs that are too hot. 10 kHz is actually a good practical limit for any auto EQ.
AudiocRaver is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 06:12 AM
Shackster
Bernard
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wizernes, France.
Posts: 43
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

Quote:
Glimmie wrote: View Post
Also the auto EQ feature seems to be limited to 10khz? Why?[/I]
Hello,

The EQ match range goes from 10 Hz to 20 KHz.

@+
Glyptoron is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 06:55 AM
Shackster
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 98
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

Quote:
Glimmie wrote: View Post

And I often get strange auto EQ settings with zero gain, IOW, they do nothing with zero gain. Is this a bug?

I was getting this just a couple of days ago.

When I ran auto EQ it would suggest filters with 0.0 gain.
subterFUSE is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 11:50 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

Quote:
Glyptoron wrote: View Post
Hello,

The EQ match range goes from 10 Hz to 20 KHz.

@+
What version are you using?

Mine stops at 10khz. You can put 20k in but it will default back to 10k.
Glimmie is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 12:05 PM
Elite Shackster
 
Lumen's Avatar
Lou
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,261
My System
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

I would imagine that the filters default to zero gain. So there's not really any "programming" to do. Just leave any non-zero filters alone.

.
I try to be as good as my dog thinks I am
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
Lumen is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 12:51 PM
Shackster
Bernard
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wizernes, France.
Posts: 43
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

The last one, Sir ! id est V5.11.
Beyond 10 kHz, as it is rightly pointed out, live field wavelength is so short that it hardly matters. A few centimeters outside the measurement axis and the measurement will be distorted. Moreover, now the limit is 20 KHz but my 63 year old ears barely hear 12 KHz with headphones!

Last edited by Glyptoron; 05-19-15 at 01:07 PM.
Glyptoron is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

Quote:
BlueRockinLou wrote: View Post
I would imagine that the filters default to zero gain. So there's not really any "programming" to do. Just leave any non-zero filters alone.
Right, we should just ignore these entries in the list. However it does point to a bug in the software, hopefully harmless.
Glimmie is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 08:14 PM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,298
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

I understand it is limited due anyone putting boost to that range where damage could occur.
Phillips is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 05-19-15, 08:17 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: WA State, USA
Posts: 18
Re: Does the auto EQ really work?

I tend to agree, auto filters just didn't seem to do anywhere near as well as I could do with manual filters. It could be I'm not properly configuring the objective curve but I gave up and did mine manually throughout, with great results I might add.
IslandHydro is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
auto , eq , work

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome