How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 6
My System
How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

Hello,

I'm looking for help as to how to run a sweep with a corrective software EQ applied, so as to test my corrective EQ settings.

I spent a lot of time with REW doing a lot of sweeps and figured out the best position for my monitors, sub, and mix position (with the help of a consultant for a company that manufactures room treatment materials).

I'm lucky to have moved into a room that already has a lot of sound treatment, so the consultant suggested not to add any more treatment, but instead to apply a software EQ to pull down frequencies. I've experimented with the EQ window, and I think I've come up with an EQ setting to try to smooth things out, and my plan is to ultimately use Logic Pro's Channel EQ on the Output Channel while mixing (and then remove it when I bounce).

The problem is, I don't know how to insert an software EQ into REW so as to test my corrective EQ setting. In other words, I want to run a sweep in REW with a software EQ applied to see how a my EQ settings will affect the room's response. Can someone tell me how to do this? I was told by the consultant that this can be done, but I can't figure out how.

I'm attaching screen shots of REW showing the room response curve and the EQ window to show what I've done. Any help is appreciated, and I'd also be glad to have anyone's input as to whether I'm proceeding in the right direction in general.

Thanks,
Tim
Attached Thumbnails
How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?-main-window.jpg  

How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?-eq-window.jpg  

trobert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 03:52 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,710
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

You can't have REW apply the EQ itself (another one of the things on my todo list) but you could use EqualizerAPO to do it.
JohnM is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 6
My System
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

Thanks for your reply, John. I am using a Mac, and it looks like this is for Windows only - am I correct?
trobert is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 04:08 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,710
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

Yes, EqualizerAPO is for Windows, sorry. On a Mac perhaps you could use sound flower to route REW's sweep output through your channel EQ.
JohnM is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 6
My System
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

Thanks for the tip. I looked up Soundflower, and on MacUpdate some users talk about it causing crashing / kernel panics of Mavericks, which is what I'm using. So I'm hesitant to use it. Do you happen to know of any other software that might work for this purpose? Thanks again.
trobert is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-20-15, 04:27 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,710
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

I don't, but I'm no expert on Mac audio software so doesn't mean there isn't something.
JohnM is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-21-15, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 6
My System
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

OK, thanks John. And thanks for developing a great tool (I'm assuming you developed REW because your signature refers to you as "REW Author").
trobert is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-24-15, 08:28 AM
Elite Shackster
Wayne Myers
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 4,838
Re: How do I run a sweep with a corrective software EQ inserted?

Reaper can do it, and they have an OSX version, but the learning curve is not pretty.

If you choose to, when you install, be sure the ReaRoute option is selected, then you will have a series of ASIO ins and outs to Reaper for other programs (REW) to commune with it directly. Their built-in ReaEQ can give you unlimited PEQ bands, but - alas - uses bandwidth rather than Q and converting between can be tricky. It can accept any AU's, so there are certainly lots of EQ possibilities to work with out there.

I have used Reaper a lot, but am not a Mac guy, so cannot help with Mac issues.
AudiocRaver is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
corrective , curve , eq , generating , manual , read

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome