Total newbie, first REW result - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 11 Old 03-15-16, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

Total newbie, first REW result

Hi,

I am a total newbie at this, just got an Umik and after a quick reading of REW manual I tried to measure my speakers for the first time. My setup is for hi-fi listening, not home theatre. I have two bookshelf Harbeths on stands in a room roughly 5X7 meters. Speakers are on the short side, I measured with the mic straight in between at my listening position (couch) which is at about 2.2 meters from the speakers (spaced about 2.2 meters). Basically is a triangle.
I put the mic at ear's height which is same height of the tweeters. I have a glass coffee table on a rug between the couch and the speakers (I suppose is a bad thing).

Can you help me to understand the results and what I should do to improve?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-15-16, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

Re: Total newbie, first REW result

Graphs
Attached Thumbnails
Total newbie, first REW result-default-setup-fr.jpg  

Total newbie, first REW result-default-setup-rt60.jpg  

Total newbie, first REW result-default-setup-wf.jpg  

post #3 of 11 Old 03-15-16, 01:36 PM
Elite Shackster

Tony

My System

By looking at your first graph its actually not that bad. The area between 2K and 100Hz is a little hot compared to the higher 2k-10k range but still remains quite flat. The dip at 800Hz could be boosted slightly but again over all not that bad. Your speakers do seem to fall off quite rapidly above 10k do you have them angled towards the listening position?

Home theater:
Onkyo 805, Yamaha YDP2006EQ, Samson Servo 600 amp
3 EV Sentry 500 monitors across the front, 4 Mission 762i's Surrounds, SVS PB13U sub, Panasonic BDT220, Harmony 1100, Nintendo WiiU
Panasonic PT-AE8000 on a 120" 2,35:1 fixed screen

Living room system: