Impulse response window functions - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 7 Old 12-23-16, 07:46 PM Thread Starter

Impulse response window functions

Hello, it's my first post here.
In the IR Windows the top two choices are windowing functions: Tukey, Blackman, Flat-Top etc. What are their
uses and for what types of measurements? Is there a default one good for all situations?
TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-24-16, 06:13 AM Thread Starter

Re: Impulse response window functions

I will add some details to my original post. I am fairly new to REW and DIY audio in general.
I am building 2-way dipole mains speakers to be supplemented by separate subs.
My measurements are done outdoors (I live in the countryside). The speaker is elevated in the field,
mic 1 meter away at the height of +2 meters (7 feet). The dipole peak is there at ca 300Hz, as expected
for the baffle size. When I apply windowing from -1ms to 9ms (just before the ground bounce at ca 10ms)
the dipole peak shape depends on the chosen window function from the "IR windows" pop-up (Tukey, Blackman, Flat-top etc).
The peak height can vary by 4-5 dB depending on the chosen function. Eg, with flat-top it looks like no EQ is required.
Which window function is proper for the kind of outdoors dipole speaker measurements I'm doing? TIA.
Attached Thumbnails
Impulse response window functions-2-way-dipole-outdoor-impulse.jpg  

post #3 of 7 Old 12-24-16, 01:17 PM
Elite Shackster

My System

I'm no expert on various window choices vs analysis types, but will make some basic comments in case they are helpful. If you were looking for the ins and outs of all the various windows choices for various charts, I don't have any link to any overall summary.

> The default window Tukey 0.25 for SPL charts works very well for me.
> Any left window change is not significant for the SPL chart so long as it is positioned far enough away so it does not encroach on the impulse.