New to REW: Initial Setup - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 7 Old 07-23-10, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
Shackster

New to REW: Initial Setup

Greetings all,

I am just getting into REW and audio calibration in general. I've done the THX Home Theater Pro 1 course and am currently working my way through Floyd E. Toole's book - Sound Reproduction: Loudspeakers and Rooms

I have got myself a new laptop, a pair of Cross-Spectrum calibrated Dayton Audio EMM-6 Mics and an ART USB Dual Pre.

1st question I have is how to hook up for the soundcard cal? Do I just connect the mic input to the headphone (or monitor) output on the back?

Thank you for taking the time to read this and thank you for REW!!

Stele.

P.S. I'd post links but this is my very 1st post and I'm not allowed yet
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-23-10, 10:42 AM
Senior Shackster

Bob

Re: New to REW: Initial Setup

There's a good cabling and set up guide here.. I'm just about to re-familiarise myself with it all! There's more links here too.

Also the Help guide in REW also goes through the calibration routine....

|JVC - PJ HD750 | Sony KL-50W2 |Denon 3805 + POA-T10 Biamp| Denon 2900 | B&Ws 604s3/602s3/LCR600s3 in 7.1 | SVS PB12-ISD | BFD | Sony PS3 Slim |SkyHD+ | Cables Scorpion & Mark Grant|

Last edited by Malice; 07-23-10 at 11:05 AM.
post #3 of 7 Old 07-23-10, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Shackster

I forgot to mention that I've looked through the setup help files. I don't have a 'line input' only 2 mic inputs will this soundcard cal still work as intended? I assume a lot of people go from line out to mic in as not a lot of sound cards would have line in on laptops would they?

post #4 of 7 Old 07-23-10, 10:39 PM
Shackster

Kevin

My System

You will want to get an USB external sound card with line-in.

Here is a post with my experience Win7 and SoundBlaster X-Fi that I am quite happy with.