Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-19-10, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?

Hi,
I'm trying put EQ filter data in my DEQ2496 and see what's change in REW measure.
Seems something wrong in my operation: the result is worst then the measure with no equalize.

Original measure
Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-misura2-originale.jpg

Measure with EQ filter data put in DEQ2496
Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-misura2-equalizzata.jpg

These are data I put manually in the equaliser
Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-misura2-eq-filter.jpg


Where am I wrong?

Thanks,
Michele.
AcarSterminator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-19-10, 12:31 PM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 9,177
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?


The problem is that you’re loading filters crafted for one specific equalizer into a different equalizer. For example, here is the electronic response of a 1/3-octave-designated filter for three different equalizers.


Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-bfd-1124-1-3-octave-20-60-.jpg
Behringer DSP 1124
1/3-octave (20/60)


Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-fbq2496-1-3-octave-.333-.jpg
Behringer FBQ2496
1/3-octave (.333)


Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?-sms-1-1-3-octave-4.3q-.jpg
Velodyne SMS-1
1/3/octave (4.3Q)


Your best bet for the DEQ would be to use REW’s RTA feature. That way you can tweak filters and see on-screen the change in response in real time.

The great majority of those filters you’re trying to use aren’t even needed. See this thread for some tips on full range equalizing (start with post #6).

Regards,
Wayne



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-19-10, 12:42 PM
Elite Shackster
Kal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NYC + CT
Posts: 1,842
Re: Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?

Quote:
AcarSterminator wrote: View Post
Hi,
I'm trying put EQ filter data in my DEQ2496 and see what's change in REW measure.
Seems something wrong in my operation: the result is worst then the measure with no equalize.

Original measure
Attachment 23179

Measure with EQ filter data put in DEQ2496
Attachment 23180

These are data I put manually in the equaliser
Attachment 23181


Where am I wrong?

Thanks,
Michele.
Looks to me that you are getting the inverse of what you want. Increases where there are peaks and cuts where there are troughs. Is there something to correct that?

Kal Rubinson
__________________________________
"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
Kal Rubinson is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 08-19-10, 02:27 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,710
Re: Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?

Main problem is probably that the target level is way above the response, so first you need to use the "Set target level" control to get the level right, but first set the Speaker Type to Bass Limited with a cutoff at about 40Hz or so for a reasonable match to the response. Next problem is the equaliser type, the FBQ2496 or DCX2496 might be appropriate, but to know for sure you should make a loopback measurement through the equaliser with a filter set at (say) 1kHz, -12dB, 1/3 octave or so and see which of the REW equaliser settings (if any) gives the same filter shape as your measurement.
JohnM is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-19-10, 03:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Re: Applying EQ filter, get worst response: what's wrong?

Hi, I'm back to bring you all my apologize...
It was my fault: I put in EQ the wrong data
I didn't used "gain" colomn, but the green one on the left.
Thanks for all your interesting and useful replies.

So sorry,
Michele
AcarSterminator is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
applying , filter , response: , what's , worst , wrong?

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome