V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support - Page 13 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 849 Old 02-08-12, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,707
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

Quote:
Eric Walter wrote: View Post
It seems I have to first run a measurement. After that, filter retrieval works just fine.
Thanks Eric, I'll fix that.
JohnM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 849 Old 03-01-12, 11:07 AM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

I am using 5.01 beta 7 and I see issues with loading saved EQ filters. The Q value of a couple of the filters is trash upon loading. Usually the same trash value. A Q of 15.36 on EQ filter 3 in my case.

miniDSP is my equalizer setting. The saved values seem fine by looking at the settings preview in the file selection dialog. Filter 3 having a Q of 7, but when loaded it gets trashed with the 15.36 Q.

This happens regardless of the saved eq filter set. All saved files load whacked and always filter #3 and #5.

Also EQ filter in a saved measurement has showed up whacked in the same manner when the measurement was reloaded.

I am on Windows 7 64-bit.
NormanPCN is offline  
post #123 of 849 Old 03-01-12, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,707
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

Quote:
NormanPCN wrote: View Post
I am using 5.01 beta 7 and I see issues with loading saved EQ filters.
Could you attach an example .req file that shows the problem?
JohnM is offline  
 
post #124 of 849 Old 03-01-12, 03:29 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

Here is a sample .req file. It has 6 filters. #4 and #6 get their Q values whacked. In the EQ filter file load dialog preview pane #4 shows be 5.00 which is correct and #6 should be 9.24. After loaded the EQ filters window shows 10.27 for #4 and 21.42 for #6. Everything else is correct.
Attached Files test.req (2.3 KB) 
NormanPCN is offline  
post #125 of 849 Old 03-01-12, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,707
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

Quote:
NormanPCN wrote: View Post
Here is a sample .req file.
Thank you. This is a side effect of a bug I came across earlier in the week due to its effect on the predicted response when changing filter types between PK and Modal and back again. I've fixed it for the next release, in the meantime the only workaround is to use the file preview to check for the correct Q values, sorry about that.
JohnM is offline  
post #126 of 849 Old 03-01-12, 04:18 PM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

No worries. Just glad it was an easily reproducible bug.

Thanks for the great program. I am having too much fun playing with this. I was initially annoyed I had to go through getting a setup to get good sound in my room, but it has turned out to be a of a tool to have some fun with beyond getting good sound.
NormanPCN is offline  
post #127 of 849 Old 03-11-12, 02:31 PM
Senior Shackster
 
fitzwaddle's Avatar
Brad
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 591
My System
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

I'm trying to use ASIO4ALL with two devices - USB sound card for mic input, and HDMI for output - so I can easily switch between measuring all 7 channels and sub without having to manually fiddle with wires. Seems to be working well, but I'm not really sure how to go about doing a loopback to calibrate the sound card, since input and output is handled by two devices. Does loopback even apply in this case, if so how would I go about it? The only way I can think of would be to calibrate the sound card itself - then take a measurement using the sound card, another measurement with the sound card in / HDMI out, and then manually subtract deltas and apply to the calibration file.

Appreciate any advice.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


XBox Live ID: Atomic Hamper
fitzwaddle is offline  
post #128 of 849 Old 03-11-12, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,707
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

Quote:
fitzwaddle wrote: View Post
I'm trying to use ASIO4ALL with two devices - USB sound card for mic input, and HDMI for output - so I can easily switch between measuring all 7 channels and sub without having to manually fiddle with wires. Seems to be working well, but I'm not really sure how to go about doing a loopback to calibrate the sound card, since input and output is handled by two devices. Does loopback even apply in this case, if so how would I go about it? The only way I can think of would be to calibrate the sound card itself - then take a measurement using the sound card, another measurement with the sound card in / HDMI out, and then manually subtract deltas and apply to the calibration file.

Appreciate any advice.
If you were determined and had enough control over the gain of the USB soundcard you could make a loopback connection from a line level output of your receiver (assuming the HDMI output is feeding a receiver) to the input of the USB soundcard. Could also do without a cal file, but make doubly sure that the signal from the mic is not making its way back to the output, if you speak into the mic you should not hear anything from the HDMI out.
JohnM is offline  
post #129 of 849 Old 03-17-12, 01:47 PM
Senior Shackster
Matt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 355
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

I have a quick point/question about the loopback calibration... Since there will be impedance mismatches between the various devices introduce errors in the calibration file?
Chester is offline  
post #130 of 849 Old 04-08-12, 11:49 AM
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 21
Re: V5.10 Beta release - ASIO Support

wooo eeeee this site is having way more fun then the one I just left.

Do you compare the results with a reference audio analyzer??

Would be interested to try out the software. I am way too busy right now to play damnit.. but what mic do you use to take measurements.

At some point I would like to give it a whirl and compare with my sencore sp295.

The interface and graphics look great.
lastword is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
asio , beta , release , support , v510

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome