Calibration Issue - Excessive Variance in Measurement - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-04-12, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 2
Calibration Issue - Excessive Variance in Measurement

I did a search on this but it didn't yield anything. I setup a new sound card recently, Steinberg UR28M with my new monitors and wanted to re-measure my room. I also downloaded the Beta 5.01 REW.
When I try to the calibrate the card I get the above error message. I've tried using the ASIO and Java settings. I've increased to buffer to the max and still get this error. Thinking it was a card issue I grabbed another card I have just to check. Same result. I used different USB and TS cable's. I have calibrated and measured in the past using another card that I no longer have and the older version of REW. It too was USB.
What am i doing wrong now?
qbury is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-05-12, 10:40 AM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 1,400
Re: Calibration Issue - Excessive Variance in Measurement

Quote:
qbury wrote:
What am i doing wrong now?
> You should post a screen capture of the "failing" soundcard calibration in question .

> The greatest likelihood ( of what you are doing wrong ) is that you're "monitoring the input signal" ( via a soft-patch program for your soundcards ) and therefore creating a signal feedback loop ( of input, back into output ) .
> A feedback situation like this, is a "no-no" when running any data-aquisition software ( not just REW ) . The resulting comb-filtering ( of adding input to output ) can trigger the warning window that you saw .

> OTOH ( from what I have observed here ) , the same warning that you speak-of , can also seem to occur under specific circumstances ( resulting in a "false-positive" warning ). One such scenario is when a devices response is sufficiently truncated ( ie; having a faster than predicted roll-off ) in the lower or higher frequency ranges .
> Some Soundcards' pre-amps fail this test ( of acceptable linearity up to 1/2 the choosen sampling rate ) resulting in the "warning" window getting flashed to the user .


EarlK is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-05-12, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 2
Re: Calibration Issue - Excessive Variance in Measurement

Ok. I'll check out your suggestions when I get back home. Thank you.
qbury is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
calibration , excessive , issue , measurement , variance

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome