Roland Quad Capture - Page 2 - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 24 Old 01-12-13, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Pending
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Re: Roland Quad Capture

I really do appreciate all the help from you. I have since calibrated the sound card and I think I have my first readings, but am a bit puzzled...I did use the Quad Capture by the way and the Behringer mic to test that is recommended (ECM8000) and I have some pics of the responses I am getting. I just want to make sure I am doing this right because the mic responses look pretty flat to me. I do have monitoring off, so that's not it.Roland Quad Capture-test.jpg

Roland Quad Capture-test-waterfall.jpg

I don't know if this how you insert pics. I did it as attachments..is that right?
wrtorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 24 Old 01-12-13, 05:03 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,711
Re: Roland Quad Capture

That measurement is of a loopback connection somewhere, either an external wired connection or an internal hardware or software monitoring path.
JohnM is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 01-12-13, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
Pending
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Re: Roland Quad Capture

Ok. Thank you...I'll keep trying. Maybe go back to the other sound card...I know it doesn't have monitoring.
wrtorn is offline  
 
post #14 of 24 Old 01-13-13, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Pending
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Re: Roland Quad Capture

made some more adjustments. It still looks like a loopback or monitoring prob to me??? I am starting to at least get a curve. I finally got the levels on the soundcard to -12db, and turned on/off ASIO monitoring, not sure exactly what to do there...here's more shots.

Roland Quad Capture-1.jpg

Roland Quad Capture-2.jpg

I don't know if this is any better.
wrtorn is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 01-13-13, 04:27 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,711
Re: Roland Quad Capture

That is still a loopback/monitor path of some sort (way, way too clean for a room measurement). It rises at the low end because the inverse C weighting correction is turned on in REW (that is why there is a C-1 next to the value in the legend), you only need that if you are using an SPL meter as your input, it can be turned off by selecting "mic or Z weighted SPL meter" as the input type on the REW Mic/meter preferences tab. Do you have a loopback connection on the channel you are not using for measurement? Have you told REW to listen on the correct channel?
JohnM is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 01-13-13, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Pending
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Re: Roland Quad Capture

Yeah, went through your help files again and I think I found the problem. Thank you for all your help thus far...trying again...
wrtorn is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 01-13-13, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Pending
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Re: Roland Quad Capture

Roland Quad Capture-1.jpg

Is this better? I think I removed the problem. I also changed the test to go up to 20,000.
wrtorn is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 01-14-13, 06:17 AM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 1,400
Re: Roland Quad Capture

No, that's not better .

I'd suggest that you try your other soundcard .

The workings of this Roland card has ( obviously ) gotten you a bit flummoxed.


EarlK is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 01-14-13, 08:42 AM
Senior Shackster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 239
Re: Roland Quad Capture

I have Roland Octa-Capture, and have no difficulties on Windows XP machine. What OS are you using?

Front panel mix knob must be fully "playback".

Operating system mixer must have inputs muted in output mix.

Soundcard monitor mixer must have inputs turned all the way down.


Name:  input mixer.gif
Views: 1741
Size:  104.5 KB

Frequency response display zoom in on amplitude is simpler, clearer view of results for purposes here.

For loopback performance checking start with input sensitivity all the way down.

To see full performance use sweep 2Hz-24kHz 256k or 512k length for sample rate 48kHz.

For trained eyes, close inspection of impulse response can be very telling.

If you run a loopback as described and save measurement results as REW .mdat file and attach to post I will take a look at what you've got.

Regards,

Andrew
Barleywater is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 01-14-13, 09:12 AM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 1,400
Re: Roland Quad Capture

Quote:
Barleywater wrote: View Post
I have Roland Octa-Capture, and have no difficulties on Windows XP machine. What OS are you using?

(i) Front panel mix knob must be fully "playback".

(ii) Operating system mixer must have inputs muted in output mix.

(iii) Soundcard monitor mixer must have inputs turned all the way down.




Frequency response display zoom in on amplitude is simpler, clearer view of results for purposes here.

For loopback performance checking start with input sensitivity all the way down.

To see full performance use sweep 2Hz-24kHz 256k or 512k length for sample rate 48kHz.

For trained eyes, close inspection of impulse response can be very telling.

If you run a loopback as described and save measurement results as REW .mdat file and attach to post I will take a look at what you've got.

Regards,

Andrew
Thanks ! Andrew for weighing in here .

With all the info that you've provided, hopefully our ( young ? ) friend will finally get a handle on properly managing his signal flow .


Last edited by EarlK; 01-14-13 at 09:49 AM.
EarlK is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
capture , combo ins , eq wizard , ins and outs , quad , roland

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome