REW to FBQ filter settings - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-28-13, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
REW to FBQ filter settings

Hello, me again.

Don't have a MIDI cable yet so I'm setting the filters of my FBQ1000 manually. I've set REW for a DSP1124P as it seems close to the FBQ1000 for the controls and configuration.

The question I have concerns the bandwidth parameter. In REW I have a PA type filter with BW/60 = 7.
Is the value of 7 the value I have to set in the FBQ filter bandwidth?

The default value of all the FBQ filters are 60. I'm not clear what this BW/60 means.

Thanks
bob755 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-28-13, 02:48 PM
REW Author
 
JohnM's Avatar
John
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,705
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

The FBQ1000/DSP1124P express bandwidth in sixtieths of an octave, the figure REW shows is the figure to enter in the FBQ.
JohnM is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-28-13, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

OK. Thanks very much.
bob755 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-29-13, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

I received my USB/Midi cable today but unable to load the filter settings.
The driver installed automatically when the cable was connected. No CD needed.
REW displays the device on the comms panel and when the Send filters command is executed, the transmit light on the USB/MIDI adapter flashes but the FBQ shows no signs of receiving data and the filters are not loaded.

- The PC is a Dell laptop running XP pro SP3.
- The FBQ1000 MIDI comms was set up correctly as per the instructions for a DSP1124P in the REW help documentation.
- The cable OUT plug is connected to the midi IN socket on the FBQ1000
- I tried both options in the midi comms panel of REW.
- The FBQ In/Out LED doesn't flicker.

I know that I've only got a few filters that I can input manually, but I'd really like to have the MIDI interface working.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
REW to FBQ filter settings-comms.jpg  

bob755 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-29-13, 09:08 AM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 1,400
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

Sounds like a lack of familiarity with the gear in use .

Best to reread the Midi setup instructions as written in the FBQ1000 Operators Manual

The FBQ1000 instructions for Midi use, might be slightly different than those of the 1124 ( especially getting the device to receive midi commands via "Omni-Mode" ) .


Last edited by EarlK; 04-29-13 at 09:39 AM.
EarlK is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-29-13, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

Quote:
EarlK wrote: View Post
Sounds like a lack of familiarity with the gear in use .

Best to reread the Midi setup instructions as written in the FBQ1000 Operators Manual

The FBQ1000 instructions for Midi use, might be slightly different than those of the 1124 ( especially getting the device to receive midi commands via "Omni-Mode" ) .

I had already read the Midi setup instructions for the FBQ1000 and compared them to the 1124. http://www.behringer.com/assets/DSP1124P_P0124_M_EN.pdf

They are exactly the same.
The omni mode setting has no effet.

Last edited by bob755; 04-29-13 at 10:36 AM.
bob755 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-29-13, 12:51 PM
Elite Shackster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 1,400
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

Quote:
bob755 wrote: View Post
I had already read the Midi setup instructions for the FBQ1000 and compared them to the 1124. http://www.behringer.com/assets/DSP1124P_P0124_M_EN.pdf

They are exactly the same.
The omni mode setting has no effet.

Bummer .

That means you're now going to have to learn how trouble shoot your midi setup ( & this is the wrong forum to really help you properly with that ) .

( That said ) you have either ;

(i) A bad midi cable .
(ii) A bad FBQ1000 ( front-end ) .
(iii) A bad, brand "new" midi-USb adapter .
(iv) Or you have not configured the front end of REW to properly output midi ( though your recent comments would suggest other-wise since you had some "lights" flashing on the adapter ) .

- Typically people who use midi on a regular basis have their own own tricks to troubleshoot their setup .
- I guess now you'll need to create your own trouble-shooting setup . You can start by looking for a free bit of software called a midi checker .

Pick a checker that seems to fit the situation under test ( ie; you want to check the midi output from your computer to the FBQ ) .
Using the checker will allow you to take REW out of the equation & directly test the sending of a midi note to your device ( from this "checker" software ) through your cable .

Good Luck !


Last edited by EarlK; 04-29-13 at 01:44 PM.
EarlK is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-29-13, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

Hmmm. I suspect the midi adapter/cable. It's a cheap 'noname" thing that cost me 8.
Just by curiosity, I tried on a Windows 7 system and same problem except that the devices in the REW Comms window are not the same.
bob755 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-30-13, 08:50 PM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 9,166
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings


Not to be a wet blanket, but by this time you could have simply entered the info into the FBQ manually. Piece of cake, since REW tells you exactly what the parameters are...

Regards,
Wayne






To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-02-13, 08:48 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Re: REW to FBQ filter settings

Quote:
Wayne A. Pflughaupt wrote: View Post

Not to be a wet blanket, but by this time you could have simply entered the info into the FBQ manually. Piece of cake, since REW tells you exactly what the parameters are...

Regards,
Wayne



Yep that's exactly what I did do. Just that I like to know why things that should work don't.
One must admit that having the midi interface makes testing different configurations easy.
bob755 is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fbq , filter , rew , settings

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome