Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work? - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 06:51 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
EWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

I have a Pioneer Elite SC-65 AVR and need a known good EQ link between it and my sub amps.
Many users report voltage issues between their AVR's and MiniDSP.
Not that I'm married to MiniDSP, but it does seem like the best bang for the buck when it comes to Sub EQ that plays well with REW.

I would like to know which components have been known to work well between Pioneer Elite AVR's and MiniDSP, sans voltage issues, or output drop issues.

What say ye.
EWizard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 11:09 AM
GCG
Senior Shackster
 
GCG's Avatar
Patrick
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Posts: 567
My System
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

I had the same concerns after I read some stuff about the issues on the net. This after I had already purchased an unbalanced MiniDSP 2x4. I did a check from my SC-71 sub out with a Fluke Scopemeter into a 10kΩ load and found the output to go to a little over 2 volts RMS. I set the jumper on one of the inputs to 2v and ran with it. The output of the unbalanced variant is 0.9vRMS max regardless of the input scaling. I verified that with the Fluke. I did have to increase the gain on the Dayton Audio SPA1000 plate amp it was feeding. After the first MCACC run, before the increase, the sub level set in the SC-71 was at +6.5db and the spread to the lowest sat was 13db (sat was at -6.5db). After I increased the input gain on the SPA1000 and re-ran MCACC the total spread, including the sub, was only 4db. The sub was in the middle of that spread.

I need to note that I included a Linkwitz Transform which also reduces overall output as a trade for more low end extension (worked very well) and the EQ was predominantly cuts to peaks which also reduces overall output.

Final outcome is a sub response that is nearly a full octave lower, nice house curve response from below 20hz to my x-over @ 100hz, and enough power to keep ME from cranking to reference levels. This with the 0.9vRMS output of the unbalanced variant of the 2x4 product. I'm happy, however had I done my homework I'd have ordered the balanced variant with the 2.0vRMS out.

Hope that helps.

7.1 System

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Center - Infinity Video 1
Surrounds -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)
Rears -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Content source - WDTV Live Hub Media Server
GCG is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
EWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

Quote:
GCG wrote: View Post
I had the same concerns after I read some stuff about the issues on the net. This after I had already purchased an unbalanced MiniDSP 2x4. I did a check from my SC-71 sub out with a Fluke Scopemeter into a 10kΩ load and found the output to go to a little over 2 volts RMS. I set the jumper on one of the inputs to 2v and ran with it. The output of the unbalanced variant is 0.9vRMS max regardless of the input scaling. I verified that with the Fluke. I did have to increase the gain on the Dayton Audio SPA1000 plate amp it was feeding. After the first MCACC run, before the increase, the sub level set in the SC-71 was at +6.5db and the spread to the lowest sat was 13db (sat was at -6.5db). After I increased the input gain on the SPA1000 and re-ran MCACC the total spread, including the sub, was only 4db. The sub was in the middle of that spread.

I need to note that I included a Linkwitz Transform which also reduces overall output as a trade for more low end extension (worked very well) and the EQ was predominantly cuts to peaks which also reduces overall output.

Final outcome is a sub response that is nearly a full octave lower, nice house curve response from below 20hz to my x-over @ 100hz, and enough power to keep ME from cranking to reference levels. This with the 0.9vRMS output of the unbalanced variant of the 2x4 product. I'm happy, however had I done my homework I'd have ordered the balanced variant with the 2.0vRMS out.

Hope that helps.
Oh it helps a lot! Thanks!
So, basically it sounds like the Sub out on the Pioneer Elite is sufficient to run the MiniDSP, but the output of the unbalanced MiniDSP could be better.
This would be remedied by using the balanced version of MiniDSP.
I suppose you could put a bump box between the MiniDSP and your pro amps right?
EWizard is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 02:18 PM
GCG
Senior Shackster
 
GCG's Avatar
Patrick
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Posts: 567
My System
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

Guess I could, but since there's no need ... {edit: mis-read your post's meaning - Yeah If you have pro amps and an unbalanced variant then a gain bump box would be called for}

If you get the balanced variant then you'll need to wire to the unbalanced RCA connectors correctly. It's on the forum somewhere - I've seen it. I just don't recall where and since for me there was no need ...
I believe Wayne posted the info I saw.

7.1 System

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Center - Infinity Video 1
Surrounds -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)
Rears -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Content source - WDTV Live Hub Media Server

Last edited by GCG; 03-07-14 at 02:26 PM. Reason: see text
GCG is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
EWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

Thanks for the info!
I'll look for the post on the cables.
EWizard is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 03:07 PM
GCG
Senior Shackster
 
GCG's Avatar
Patrick
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Alabama Gulf Coast
Posts: 567
My System
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

This look familiar.

http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...dsp-howto.html

7.1 System

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Center - Infinity Video 1
Surrounds -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)
Rears -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
(in ceiling)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Content source - WDTV Live Hub Media Server
GCG is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
EWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

That looks like exactly what I need!
Thanks again!
EWizard is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 03-07-14, 04:30 PM
HTS Senior Moderator
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 9,173
Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?


Quote:
EWizard wrote: View Post
I would like to know which components have been known to work well between Pioneer Elite AVR's and MiniDSP, sans voltage issues, or output drop issues.
Any professional-grade outboard equalizer will work with none of the issues you mentioned.


Quote:
EWizard wrote: View Post
I suppose you could put a bump box between the MiniDSP and your pro amps right?
As thoroughly explained in my dissertation on gain structure (which you can find linked in my signature), a signal booster is not needed unless your receiver doesn’t put out enough voltage to drive your amplifier of choice.

Regards,
Wayne



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 03-08-14, 06:27 AM
Senior Shackster
 
blitzer's Avatar
Brent L
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 205
My System
Send a message via Yahoo to blitzer
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

Quote:
GCG wrote: View Post
Guess I could, but since there's no need ... {edit: mis-read your post's meaning - Yeah If you have pro amps and an unbalanced variant then a gain bump box would be called for}

If you get the balanced variant then you'll need to wire to the unbalanced RCA connectors correctly. It's on the forum somewhere - I've seen it. I just don't recall where and since for me there was no need ...
I believe Wayne posted the info I saw.
I did get the balanced MiniDSP and I have many problems. My AVR has a balanced output. If I go from my balanced AVR directly to my EP 4000, all is good and gain is perfect. If I put the balanced mini DSP in the middle I have problems. The input I get on the MiniDSP is barely up from Infinity regardless of the DIP switch inside of the MiniDSP. Also the outputs of the balanced MiniDSP appear to be low as well. So, it seems like I need a bump box before and after the MiniDSP. I did get a bump box for before the MiniDSP and that did help with the input signal to the MiniDSP. But I get a very weak signal out of the other side. Unfortunately I do not have the tools to do any measuring

-Brent


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
blitzer is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 03-08-14, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
 
EWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
Re: Pioneer Elite owners - EQ units that work?

These are the kinds of responses that prompted this thread.
What AVR are you using again Brent?
Did you wire the DSP to the AVR in the same manner (obviously a little different because of the XLR out on your AVR) as the link above?

Last edited by EWizard; 03-08-14 at 10:02 AM.
EWizard is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
elite , eq , owners , pioneer , units , work

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now




PLEASE COMPLETE ALL REQUIRED FIELDS BELOW... THANKS!

REQUIRED FIELDS ON THIS PAGE
YOU MUST COMPLETE ALL OF THESE

Username
Password
Confirm Password
Email Address
Confirm Email Address
Random Question
Random Question #2




User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
PLEASE READ BELOW PRIOR TO ENTERING AN EMAIL ADDRESS!

ATTENTION!

YOU MUST ACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT!

Activation requires you reply to an email we will send you after you register... if you do not reply to this email, you will not be able to view certain areas of the forum or certain images... nor will you be able download software.

AN INVALID EMAIL ADDRESS WILL CAUSE YOUR ACCOUNT TO BE DELETED!

See our banned email list here: Banned Email List

We DO NOT respond to spamcop, boxtrapper and spamblocker emails... please add @hometheatershack DOT com to your whitelist prior to registering or you will get nowhere on your registration.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML is not allowed!
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 


For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome