1st REW Measurement - Home Theater Forum and Systems - HomeTheaterShack.com

post #1 of 3 Old 02-21-08, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
Shackster
Mike

1st REW Measurement

Hello to all,
This is my first attempt after setup. I'm using my office pc speaker/sub as a test before I move on to the ht equipment.

Red = sub in the middle of the room
Purple = sub in the corner

My goal would be to utilize sub placement and room treatment first before applying any eq. So as brucek would state - is there a question in there? the answer is yes Based on the graph would placement / treatment work? What problems exist here in your opinion and what would you do to correct? I know it's a subjective question with only the graph but I want to make sure I've got the basics down using REW before moving on.

Name:  1stmeasure.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  37.3 KB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 02-21-08, 11:24 AM
Elite Shackster
brucek

Re: 1st REW Measurement

The graph shows that your subs low end extension is ~45Hz. That would be consistent with PC based speaker+sub system. The signal as it rises from 35Hz down to 15Hz is basically noise exacerbated in the plot by the inverse meter calibration file.

But overall the response ain't too bad. You can see how the corner helps the bottom end, but it also suffers from a dip at ~150Hz. I would think by moving the sub around you could get a fairly smooth response. Treatment is ineffective at frequencies below about ~100Hz and so most of your peaks in the plot could be handled by placement, given that they aren't that bad.

Anyway, you obviously know how to use the program, so the HT room is next..

brucek
post #3 of 3 Old 02-21-08, 05:37 PM
HTS Senior Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to Wayne A. Pflughaupt
Re: 1st REW Measurement

Quote:
My goal would be to utilize sub placement and room treatment first before applying any eq.
You’re doing treatments in your office? Impressive.